Toorak Toff Defeats Squamosa and Ilovethiscity To Win 2010 Golden Rose Stakes

August 29th, 2010

Toorak Toff has taken the crown of the highlight event at the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, by defeating a top quality field in the $1 million Group One Golden Rose (1400m) on Saturday.

Many happy punters would have come away from the 2010 Golden Rose with plenty more in their pocket, after Toorak Toff overcame outsider odds at

The Show A Heart colt became the first Victorian-trained three-year-old to win the Golden Rose, which doubled up as trainer Rick Hore-Lacy’s first Group One win in six years.

Damien Oliver took to the winning saddle in a race which saw a length-and-a-half between the first six finishers.

Gai Waterhouse was delighted with her runner Squamosa which finished second. The previously unbeaten colt overcame the wide barrier to defeat Ilovethiscity into third place.

There was some controversy early on in the jump surrounding some interference. Masquerader went into the 2010 Golden Rose as the favourite at, but jockey Hugh Bowman suggested bearing the brunt of the interference was the reason for the disappointing seventh-place finish.

Crystal Lily was a favourite for many at, but the Golden Slipper winner finished 11th. The Stratum filly used the event as a lead up to bigger things this spring, and has not reached her full potential just yet.

Also taking place on Saturday was the $125,000 Group Three Concorde Stakes (1100m) which saw a devastating win by Reward For Effort.

If you would like to follow any of these runners’ spring racing campaigns then make sure you are signed up to, that way you can be sure you are getting the best odds going.

2010 Golden Rose Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Toorak Toff Rick Hore-Lacy Damien Oliver
2 Squamosa Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller
3 Ilovethiscity Grahame Begg Joshua Parr
4 Decision Time Clarry Conners Blake Shinn
5 Sasa Tim Martin Tye Angland
6 Kudakulari (NZ) Bar Cummings Brenton Avdulla
7 Masquerader David Payne Hugh Bowman
8 Top Drop Gerald Ryan Jay Ford
9 Gybe Anthony Cummings Tim Clark
10 Chance Bye Michael Tubman Kathy O’Hara
11 Crystal Lily M Ellerton & S Zahra Brett Prebble
12 Hinchinbrook Gerald Ryan Corey Brown
13 Praecido (NZ) David Payne Glyn Schofield
14 Run For Levi John P Thompson Peter Robl
15 Panipique Peter G Moody Jim Cassidy